Founding Members

We, the senior representatives of the universities and laboratories listed below, agree to be the initial members of Southern California Coastal Ocean Observing System (SCCOOS) with the express aim of providing integrated coastal observation within the Southern California Bight of California for scientific purposes and for the benefit of society. In support of this effort, we agree to participate in both Local, State and Federal programs which would further the establishment of this observatory. (2003 MOU)

  1. Cal Poly  
  2. California State University Los Angeles (Cal State LA) 
  3. Center for Scientific Research and Higher Education (CICESE) 
  4. NASA, Jet Propulsion Laboratory 
  5. Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO) 
  6. Southern California Coastal Water Research Project (SCCWRP) 
  7. The Autonomous University of Baja California (UABC) 
  8. University of California Irvine (UCI) 
  9. University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) 
  10. University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB) 
  11. University of Southern California (USC) 

SCCOOS Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Parties

  1. AltaSea (2017 MOU
  2. Central and Northern California Ocean Observing System (CeNCOOS) (2011 MOU)
  3. Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS) (2017 MOU
  4. Northwest Association of Networked Ocean Observing Systems (NANOOS) (2011 MOU)
  5. West Coast Governors Alliance (WCGA) on Ocean Health (2012 MOU

Partners and Collaborators

Letters of Support (LOS) 

  • Animal Telemetry Network (ATN)
  • Baja Aqua Farms (LOS 2019
  • Birch Aquarium at Scripps (LOS 2019
  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) (LOS 2019)
  • California Coastal Coalition
  • California Coastal Commission
  • California Coastal Conservancy
  • California Coastkeeper Alliance
  • California Collaborative Fisheries Research Program (CCFRP)
  • California Cooperative Oceanic Fisheries Investigations (CalCOFI)
  • California Current Ecosystem - Long Term Ecological Research (CCE-LTER)
  • California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) 
  • CDFW - Marine Wildlife Veterinary Care & Research Center (MWVCRC) (LOS 2020)
  • CDFW Office of Spill Prevention and Response (CDFW-OSPR) (LOS 2019)
  • California Department of Public Health (CDPH)
  • California Natural Resource Agency (CNRA)
  • CNRA - California Ocean Protection Council (CNRA-OPC) (LOS 2020)
  • California Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA)
  • California Regional Water Quality Control Board
  • California Sea Grant (LOS 2015
  • California Shore and Beach Preservation Association (LOS 2020)
  • California State University, Long Beach, Shark Lab
  • California State University (CSU) Council on Ocean Affairs, Science, and Technology
  • California's Marine Protected Area Network (MPA Network)
  • California Wildlife Center (LOS 2020)
  • Carlsbad Aquafarm (LOS 2019)
  • Carnival Cruise Line (LOS 2019) (LOS 2020
  • Catalina Sea Ranch (LOS 2019)
  • Center for Climate Change Impacts & Acidification (SIO-CCCIA)
  • Center for Marine Biodiversity and Conservation (SIO-CMBC)
  • City of Encinitas
  • City of Los Angeles (LOS 2019
  • Coastal Data Information Program (CDIP) (LOS 2020)
  • Coastal Observing Research and Development Center (SIO-CORDC)
  • CODAR Ocean Sensors (LOS 2019
  • County of San Diego, Department of Environmental Health
  • Farallon Institute
  • Heal the Bay
  • Jacobsen Pilot Service Inc (LOS 2019) (LOS 2020)
  • Marathon (LOS 2015)
  • Marine Animal Rescue (MAR) (LOS 2020)
  • Marine Exchange of Southern California (LOS 2019) (LOS 2020)
  • Marine Mammal Care Center Los Angeles (LOS 2020)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI)
  • National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
  • Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division (NAVAIR-NAWCWD)
  • NOAA Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary (NOAA-CINMS) (LOS 2020)
  • NOAA Coastal Services Center (NOAA-CSC)
  • NOAA Emergency Response Division (NOAA-ERD) (LOS 2019)
  • NOAA National Estuarine Research Reserve System (NOAA-NERRS)
  • NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA-NMFS)
  • NOAA National Weather Service (NOAA-NWS) (LOS 2019) (LOS 2020)
  • NOAA Southwest Fisheries Science Center (NOAA-SWFSC) (LOS 2019)
  • NOAA West Coast Regional Office of National Marine Sanctuaries (NOAA-ONMS)
  • Ocean Science Trust
  • One Health Institute and Karen Drayer Wildlife Health Center, University of California, Davis (LOS 2020)
  • Orange County Sanitation District (LOS 2019
  • Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen's Associations (PCFFA) (LOS 2020)
  • Pacific Marine Mammal Center (PMMC) (LOS 2019
  • Partnership for Interdisciplinary Studies of Coastal Oceans (PISCO)
  • Port of Los Angeles/Long Beach
  • Port of San Diego
  • Saildrone Inc
  • San Diego Marine Protective Area Collaborative (LOS 2020)
  • San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC)
  • Santa Barbara Adventure Company (LOS 2020)
  • Santa Barbara Channel - Marine Biodiversity Observation Network (SBC-MBON)
  • Santa Barbara Coastal - Long Term Ecological Research (SBC-LTER)
  • Santa Monica Bay National Estuary Program
  • Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission (SMBRC)
  • SeaWorld San Diego 
  • Sonoma County Water Agency
  • Southern California Coastal Water Research Project (SCCWRP) (LOS 2019)
  • State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB)
  • The Longest Swim
  • The Marine Mammal Center (TMMC) (LOS 2019
  • The Maritime Alliance (TMA) (LOS 2019) (LOS 2020)
  • The Nature Conservancy (TNC)
  • The Shore Stations Program
  • Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve (Tijuana Estuary) (LOS 2019
  • US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
  • US Coast Guard, Office of Search and Rescue (LOS 2019
  • US Geological Survey (USGS) 
  • USC Sea Grant
  • WiLDCOAST (LOS 2020)
  • Wildlife Neighbors Database Project (LOS 2020)